Go. Live your dream.

“Go. Live your dream.” -Hook Hand, Tangled (2010)

(To those of you who know me–bet you were waiting for when the Disney quotes would start, huh?)

We’re all dreamers; we all have dreams. At a very young age, we find ourselves exploring what a wonderful world this could be through our imagination by playing pretend or our passions to pursue as an adult. Children always get asked the question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?” amongst others that peer into the uninhibited array of choices they have in their minds of what life could be.

As we grow older, we realize that not all of our dreams are realistic, and often times, they end up fading away or getting shot down by the harsh and often unforgiving world. These dreams and passions don’t have the proper environment to be nurtured and grow and it feels less and less of a possibility to achieve.

And then there are the determined few who go out and do it anyways. They fight against the grain and work insanely hard to make their dream come true. The try and fail more times than they are successful, but through their toil they are able to celebrate victories along the way. But like I said, they will fail more than they succeed.

And then, when life ends, what is it worth? If life is about pursuing a dream for the sake of making a dream become reality and then we all end up dead, then the origin of that dream dies with its inspiration. The dream fades away unless someone else takes it up, but often times the motivation and direction of the dream changes anyways. Doesn’t that seem a bit…trivial?

So I hated life, because the work that is done under the sun was grievous to me. All of it is meaningless, a chasing after the wind.  I hated all the things I had toiled for under the sun, because I must leave them to the one who comes after me. (Ecclesiastes 2:17-18, NIV)

I believe that our dreams and passions in life are appointed to us by God. And when God appoints us for something, no one–NO ONE–can dis-appoint us. (I read this idea somewhere once and I have no recollection of where, so I insert this disclosure here so I don’t get sued for plagiarism.)

Anyways, where was I? Oh, right.

We are all existent on this earth for a reason. We’re meant to play a part for a very intentional purpose–one that goes beyond our personal dreams.

You were strategically placed here, at this time in history, by God for His plans and purposes. He needed someone just like you to love the unlovable – to bring joy to a dark, cold world – to reveal peace in confusing conversations and situations – and to be kind at times when our culture is desolately cruel. God, the Creator of the Universe, needed someone just like you to be constantly optimistic in the face of frustrating circumstances – to hope when there was no reason for hope – and to show patience to obstinate and ornery people. Because God needed you, He created you to reveal His heart.

(Holy Emotions-Biblical Responses to Every Challenge, Source: https://www.bible.com/reading-plans/255-holy-emotions/day/1)

See, I believe that we all have dreams, and then we all have appointed dreams. Our dreams are things that we want to achieve for ourselves–for accomplishments’ sake. I believe that sometimes those dreams we want to accomplish can be for selfless reasons, like when people dream to end world hunger or to become a nurse or a fireman, etc. Then there are our appointed dreams–our calling, which is instilled in us by God to serve and care for one another. There’s a more lasting achievement in store for those godly dreams because they have been blessed by God. And I believe that sometimes, for some people, those two dreams overlap one another. I believe it’s possible that that could be the case for everyone.

With the myriad of options existent in the world, our freedom to choose and to try to overcome any obstacle between us and our dream, and the blessing of God who appointed a dream for us, I find hope and motivation through this extremely open-ended quote from my favorite Disney film. In the end, I’m adding my own two cents to the tail of the quote, but ultimately, I know what it means to me because I’m seeking to live my appointed dream and I look at this quote as small mantra to continually motivate me.

“Go. Live your appointed dream, that you might be an effective instrument to touch lives and in doing so, you will be fully alive.”

I hope and pray that God reveals to you your appointed dream, and that if He has, that He will continue to make His presence and His blessings upon it known to you. May He send down His heavenly resources, open doors, and bring you clarity, that you might not be confused, misled, or discouraged about your incredible existence on this earth at this point in history. I hope and pray you choose to pursue your appointed dream. Life is so much more vibrant when we live it through the eyes of our Father.

Joy and inspiration unto you.

For you were called for freedom, brothers. But do not use this freedom as an opportunity for the flesh; rather, serve one another through love. For the whole law is fulfilled in one statement, namely, “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” (Galatians 5:13-14, NABRE)

 

Leave a Reply

